Taza 70% Dark Chocolate

Taza 70% and 80% dark bars appear in the usual bar shape as opposed to the dual-disks you'll get with the Chocolate Mexicano.

Taza 70% and 80% dark bars appear in the usual bar shape as opposed to the dual-disks you'll get with the Chocolate Mexicano.

TASTING NOTES

WHEN: 26 May, 2009.

WHAT: Taza Stone Ground Organic Chocolate, 70% Dark.  Bean origin – Dominican Republic.  Batch #193.  3oz (85g).  Price Range: $$$

OVERALL RATING: 88

AROMA: Distinct fruity notes, vanilla.

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS:  Grapefruit, blueberry, vanilla.

MIDDLE TASTE – Bursts of fruit rise suddenly and disappear, blueberry, rum, fruit cake, celery, faint tobacco, ride of salt through the end.

FINISH:  Raisins, currants, butter, vanilla.

TEXTURE: Granular, grainy. Surprisingly not too different from the Mexicano in terms of this rustic texture.  When I rub my fingers together after compulsively snapping off another piece, I can feel granular particles rolling between them.  Very interesting stuff.  I still think a good part of the texture of the Chocolate Mexicano comes from the sugar, but even with the lower sugar content, the texture of the 70% Dark is nothing like what I’m used to eating…and that’s the point after all.  How interesting would the world be if all chocolate was the same?

Next, I’ll review the 80% and decide which is my favorite of the bunch.

Disclosures: I paid for this chocolate myself.

2 responses to “Taza 70% Dark Chocolate

  1. I must try the 80% one, where did you find this Walter?

    • Hi Mika, You can find Taza at Whole Foods although I can’t guarantee that they are in every store. Taza is also sold in over 400 stores nationwide – I assume various smaller markets and specialty shops. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

