Antidote Raw 100% with Dates Dark Chocolate

Antidote 100 plus dates_cor1I normally taste chocolate for these reviews first thing in the morning before I eat anything, and this time was no different. I set up some space to taste while my pallet came back to life after a deep winter’s sleep.  One whiff of this darkest of chocolates and I was immediately awake and hungry.  I couldn’t help but to dive into the tasting curious to discover how the bits of dates would enhance the chocolate – would they provide sweetness or just an accent?

Unlike in my previous Antidote Chocolate review, this bar contains no sugar, so it’s in a completely different class of dark, nearly black chocolate bars with only a few peers to keep it company.  For that reason, I’ve decided not to give it a numerical score – it just doesn’t equate to most of the other chocolates I’ve reviewed so far.  People eat extreme dark bars for many reasons, but for most it’s about a sugar-free healthy experience loaded with antioxidants.

Antidote uses raw organic cacao beans from the Camino Verde farm in Ecuador to make a potent dark chocolate.

Tasting Notes and Review of Antidote Raw 100% Cacao with Dates

WHAT: Antidote Raw 100% Cacao with Bits of Delicate Dates. 65g (2.3 oz). Ingredients: Cacao beans*, dates, cocao butter*.  *Certified organic. 

Where to buy Antidote Chocolate.

WHEN: November 26, 2015   OVERALL RATING: n/a.

AROMA: Floral and tannic with citrus, green apple, black tea and banana.  You can’t escape the nose.  It will find you.

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS: Grape skin, tannin, black tea.  Starts off slow and flat. You need to do some chewing to develop the range of flavors.

MIDDLE TASTE: Rose, malt, light ham, grape skin, cardamom, olive.

FINISH: Tannin gives way to almonds, walnuts, and more earthy notes like mushroom.  The finish is long lasting and less intense than the middle.

TEXTURE: On the crunchy end. Doesn’t melt on the tongue readily.

Antidote 100 warning crp

The warning on the back says it all. If you’re used to buying chocolate from the pharmacy, this might not be for you.  For the adventurous, *****

LAST BITE: What about the dates?  Don’t expect the dates to magically turn this bar into candy.  It’s not that kind of chocolate.  In fact, the dates don’t provide much of a sweetening effect – it’s more like a fruity note singing out from a small rowboat tossed about in a massive sea of cacao. Still, I’m glad they’re there.  My only advice for Antidote would be to chop the dates finer and add more of them so they are more like a chorus among the mighty waves of cacao.  There may be practical reasons why this is not possible, but it’s an idea worth considering. Or they may feel the bar simply rocks as is.

If you decide to try this bar, like many things in life, clarify your intentions first.  Do it because it’s satisfying, healthy, unique and fun.  I no longer felt hungry after a 3-4 squares (more than most people will ever need) and broke out from my usual somewhat sugared-up routine. Feels good.

NOTES:

[1] I paid for this bar myself (not a free sample).

3 responses to “Antidote Raw 100% with Dates Dark Chocolate

  1. The pairing of chocolate (whether milk or dark) with dates has always disappointed simply because I find the sweetness of the cacao and the fruit to result in an “incoherent din” in my mouth. This bar seems to avoid this problem by excluding any sugar in the cacao thus allowing the dates to provide a slight sweetening effect. Perhaps an 85% cacao would have worked better? Or not? Have you tried Pacari’s 70% RAW (or even 100%) and how do you feel it compares to the Ecuadorian cacao in this bar?

  2. Yes, I agree that since this is a 100% cacao bar, the dates are able to be “heard.” I’ve had the Pacari 70% raw, but not the 100%. I find many of the Ecuadorian bars to be heavy in mineral notes and this is not to my liking. I prefer more fruit. However, the Pacari raw bar is one of the best and does have a decent balance of fruit and some floral notes. I can’t really compare it to the 100% bar from Antidote for obvious reasons. I re-read my notes on the Antidote bar and there is no mention of mineral (I take more extensive notes than I include in the blog). The fresh age of the bar may have helped this or there maybe something truly different about it.

Leave a Reply

